Safari Zones in Kanha National Park

Kanha National Park is among the most beautiful and managed parks in India. It is home to the significant population of the royal Bengal tiger. Spread over an area of 940 sq. km, Kanha Tiger Reserve is the largest national park in Madhya Pradesh. There are numerous safari zones in Kanha National where you can visit to witness the royal Bengal tiger and other exotic species.

There are two major zones in which the national park is divided, The Core Zone and Buffer Zone.

Core Zone

The Core zone is basically the central area originally demarcated area of the national park with no villages or settlements. Here the natural resources and wildlife are highly conserved and human activity is extremely limited.

Core Zones of Kanha are

Kanha zone, Sarahi Zone, Mukki Zone, and Kisli zone.

Kanha zone has open meadows with grasslands and bamboo vegetation that offer some unique sightings. A tourist attraction is Shravan Taal, legendarily known for a place where King Dashrath killed Shravan Kumar mistaking him for a deer.

Sarahi Zone has dry deciduous forests and with larger meadows. Sarahi is accessed through a common road via Kisli zone and one encounters the towering Saal forests on the way.

Mukki Zone reports good sightings. The landscape includes saal, bamboo and grasslands.

Kisli zone also has the elegant saal forests and scenic grasslands with bamboo vegetation. The four core zones which are accessible from different entry gates. All these core zones are very popular among tourists.

Core Zones Entrance Gates (Full Safari) Entrance Gate
Kanha Zone Khatia / Mukki / Sarhi Gate Khatia Gate
Mukki Zone Khatia / Mukki Gate Mukki Gate
Kisli Zone Khatia / Mukki / Sarhi Gate Khatia Gate
Sarhi Zone Khatia / Sarhi Gate Sarhi Gate

Buffer Zone

The Buffer Zone is the area of forest surrounding or adjoining the core. In the buffer zones conservation takes place along with limited human settlement.

The Buffer Zones of Kanha are

Khatia zone, Sijhora Zone, Phen Zone and Khapa zone.

Kanha buffer zones are accessible from different entrance gates. At present three safari entrance gates are existing i.e.Khatia gate, Mukki gate and Sarhi gate . Here is the table for the buffer zone that comprises the zone and its entrance gate.

Buffer Zone Entrance Gate for Safari Zone
Khapa Zone From Mukki Entrance Gate
Khatia Zone From Khatia Entrance Gate
Phen Zone Separate gate, ideal for Mukki gate resorts
Sijora Zone From Sarhi Entrance Gate